Building birds

Having a passion for birds can lead you into trouble.  It fosters grand ambitions.

I do not live the right life for keeping the real thing; the next best thing has to be making and painting them.

2015-05-29 12.55.57

The corvid (should have been a raven but it clearly is a generic crow) took months and made me cross. But what a learning curve.

Then I read Jackie Morris’ wonderful Queen of the Sky

Well needless to say the first steps have not been easy

2015-05-29 20.04.32 2015-05-29 20.04.42

Once done, I measured and checked online (not many people give you the average toe measure for a peregrine).  Eventually I came to the conclusion that the feet were too big.

So:

2015-05-30 16.48.23

Batch two, slightly smaller (I estimated the lengths based on my bird book tarsus measure and took it as a ratio of tarsus to central toe) and hopefully a better looking foot.

2015-05-30 17.11.32

The next step is the central armature and the shaping.  I hope to have a needle felted peregrine by the end of the summer.

Not sure keeping the real thing wouldn’t be easier after all.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I’m amused to read making the corvid made you cross – they always seem to me to be cross birds! But he’s turned out splendidly. You have so much patience with your art – I love seeing how you build up a creation, step by step 🙂

Leave a Reply

