Crashing, burning and then picking up the pieces

Today I crashed. Even though I woke up as usual (6 o’clock usual) I had returned to the safety of the covers within half an hour.  Really? Is it possible to just have cold knee caps.  7.00am found me in pyjamas and hoodie, wrapped in the warmth of the duvet – sleeping.

And that has been pretty much the tale of the day; sleep has been interspersed with sugar, film and music, book and bed. On the positive side the battle with the great grey fog that has dogged the last 6 weeks has abated.

Thankfully I am not a sufferer of true depression, but like many I battle the lesser foe that is melancholy.  When this is armed against me with tiredness and petty railings at the necessities of my daily life it can be triumphant.

What brings me out of the fog is art.  The act of creating and making works as medicine for the soul.  Having a project to return to is better physik than any other I know.  So to the life line of story writing, drawing and making, I return.

Picture three, of the Fool series. Medicine indeed.2015-02-15 18.58.20

 

Updated with added cloth

2015-02-16 21.10.04

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m glad that your art brings you out of the fog and makes our winter days a bit cheerier too 🙂

    1. Thanks Emma, I am glad you like the pictures.

  2. boabee1 says:

    I have always loved art but often had no time for it (as you have mentioned on twitter this evening)! 🙂

    A few years back I had a life-changing shake-up which took me pretty low, and it was art which gave me something good to focus on. I am so pleased to hear you also have it as a good thing for when times get bleak. I do think you have a lot of talent, by the way, and have been enjoying seeing you recent detailed work. X

    1. Thank you. I chose the academic route over practical art after letting my confidence take a knock at foundation college. I have spent years rebuilding that confidence and finally feel I am getting there. I am with you on the way art can hold a light for when you need it. Next step is win the lottery so I can throw in the day job. ☺

      1. boabee1 says:

        Good luck with that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

