The geography of drawing

2015-01-02 17.41.06

Having finished the first of the illustrations,  am making a start on the next.  I need to map out the drawing before making any major marks, a geography if you like.

2015-01-04 11.28.13

My first map is quite detailed, where I worked out the journey I wanted to make.  Then I moved to the notebook and moved the route about.  Finally the tracks are laid down on the final map so that I have a path to follow whilst working.  It means I can see the overall picture at the same time as I am working in detail.

2015-01-04 12.00.36

8 Comments Add yours

  1. boabee1 says:

    Fabulous, this is turning into quite a journey 🙂

  2. Thanks Bella, I have just been admiring your partridge and envying your visual memory. Mine is a bit rubbish and I struggle without photos and notes.

  3. Lily says:

    It looks beautiful allready, but is it not a lot of work?

    1. I think I enjoy it too much to call it work, also not working to any deadlines but my own. I do intend these for a book eventually. But only as a personal project right now.

  4. rkverma20 says:

    Really fantastic and cute expression of the emotion…

  5. I’m admiring your exquisite wasp while she is not my favourite creature. I can see how mapping out the drawing and keeping the map helps not to lose the overall picture. So often artwork is engrossing that you lose your way. Thanks for revealing some of the secrets of your artistry!

    1. I know that they have a poor track record where bees are concerned, but I have a fondness for most insects. I remember meeting a pair of hornets, whilst on the steps of a sauna in Finland. They are magnificent creatures although quite frightening. Visually they lend themselves to drawing so well. Alan Aldridge painted a fantastic duel picture for the Butterfly Ball, back in the 70’s. I often aspired to paint like he did.

      1. They are beautiful and like all creatures important to our world. I can see why Alan’s art is so inspiring! I presume you know Don’t Forget the Roundabouts entomology blog – essential reading for insect fans 🙂 http://simonleather.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

