What a way to have fun.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Thanks the generosity and guidance of Clive Hicks-Jenkins I have just had lots of fun creating these.  I can see how Clive finds this process so addictive.  I have been drawing freehand so far, not quite ready to cut stencils yet.  If you fancy your own bespoke enamel ware for camping and cooking then give this a whirl.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. These are great. I love your freehand approach, which works beautifully. With my own stencilled work I was looking for a more formalised ‘folk art’ quality, though your mugs illustrate just how versatile the porcelain pens and inks can be. Delightfully done. Congratulations.

    You’re right. I think you’ve solved your Christmas present problems this year!!!

    1. Thank you for introducing us to the process, I have had so much fun with it.
      The chickens are for a friend’s birthday this year. There are cream jugs on order, the only thing I can’t find is a cream/white coffee pot.
      I love how you can play with finish and colour. Free hand is just because I didn’t get round to buying in film for stencilling and I am not confident enough for paper cutting. I can’t thank you enough, although it is yet another medium to try to fit in with all the others.

    1. Drat! Just noticed that it’s out of stock. Sorry!

    1. Thank you for the lovely praise. It means a lot from someone with your talent. I love your pots.

  2. Jacqui Hicks says:

    Fab mugs! Thanks to Clive, I am now proud owner of white coffee pot and a large enamelware colander which reminds me of my nans when I was a child back in the 1950’s from homecookonline.com they’ve just arrived beautifully packed in half a post office worth of bubble wrap!!

    1. How fantastic, rather envious of the coffee pot, I have struggled to find one. Have found a set of cream jugs that beg to be decorated though.
      http://www.enamelkitchenware.co.uk/ourshop/prod_1534326–Set-of-Six-Cream-Enamel-Retro-Jugs-Pitchers.html

      1. jaxhicks says:

        http://homecookonline.com/index.php/falcon.html?p=6
        here y’go.they have lots of colours and styles.
        j

      2. jaxhicks says:

        agree about those jugs they are rather fantastic. I was at Chatsworth on Saturday as my parents live up that way – didn’t see your chick!

      3. They live in the farm park, near to the milking parlour. It is the French variety with feather pantaloons.

    1. Thanks, it is based on the feathered inhabitants of Chatsworth Farm. It Will be a birthday present for a special friend.

  3. beth says:

    These are wonderful — and inspiring!

    1. Thank you kindly, they are great fun to make.

  4. that chick is precious! great work!

  5. Winter Owls says:

    These are really lovely, I haven’t heard of porcelain pens before, thanks for sharing. 🙂

    1. Thank you, have a look at Clive’s lovely use of porcelain pens. He kicked started the whole shebang.

Leave a Reply

